Overcoming Gluttony: 7 Effective Strategies to Stop Overeating Habit


 

Do you often feel weak and sleepy, or discomfort and restless, or do you vomit after a meal? Or do you find it difficult to resist any kind of food or snacks that attracts your eyes? If yes, then, you probably, are battling with overeating a.k.a gluttony, but are never alone.

Gluttony is more dangerous than AIDS. It makes you think less, weakens the body, soul and spirit, and according to expert, overeating is one of the leading causes of obesity, heart diseases, diabetes, and cancer. Excessive feeding is like drinking to stupor, it is the devil’s tool for snatching one’s destiny—think of Esau, Eve and Adam.

However, People tend to overeat for different reasons, but most commonly, to escape depression, bitterness or rage; boredom, loneliness and frustration, among others emotional hijacks including stress.

Naturally, I don’t like food because they make me sick–sometimes, but, in other to escape emotional pains, I gave in to gluttony. So, when emotionally down, or angry with self for not doing things right, I eat and eat till I lose my strength and sense—even when I don’t like the food. But, I would always suffer the consequences: my mind became dormant—too disorganised to reason. After every single meal, I would vomit like a woman at the first stage of her pregnancy. Chest and stomach pain became my ill. Simply put, physically and mentally, I lost my peace and stability and remained ‘useless’ to myself until September 2016—I won the battle.

HOW STOP OVEREATING HABIT?

  1. Admit and take responsibility

The major problem we all have in common is usually to blame others or circumstances for our predicaments. The same happens with gluttony: it is easier to blame boredom, emotions or loneliness for eating excessively which is another way of saying “it’s part of me; I can’t change it.” But, to paraphrase the words of Joyce Meyer, unless you admit you’ve got a problem, and take charge of it, you can never get a solution. You must admit it’s your fault and none other. Admit and take responsibility.

  1. MAKE UP YOUR MIND

One of my colleagues at the office, Stephen, said something about the words “should” and ”must.” He said that whenever we tell ourselves “I should do this,” there’s a tendency we’ll never do it, but the moment we say “I must do this!” That is when it becomes a habit. To overcome gluttony, you should get angry in your spirit and tell yourself “I must stop overfeeding. I must never again consume more than my belly can bear!” This is the only language your mind, brain and every nerve in your body understands—must. Say that affirmatively to yourself and notice a great change in your relationship with food.

  1. CULTIVATE FASTING HABIT

I did this crazy thing when I made up my mind against gluttony. For four days, I refused to anything called food except fresh fruits and vegetables. My initial plan was seven days until my mum intervened when she saw how lean and sick I turned out. “If you want to kill yourself, it is not in this my house,” she said and forced a chunk of toast bread on me that evening. You need to see me weeping at the sight and smell of food; it was like forcing a bowl of faeces on me. After the abstinence, the bond I had with food broke tremendously. Even when emotionally down, I feel more comfortable doing something else at times.

One great thing fasting does is to subject the flesh and activate your spirit man. When the spirit in you is active, it enables you to resist temptation or urges helping you stay in control. Fasting also helps the digestive tracts opportunity to rest and repair worn out tissues for proper functioning.

  1. TAKE A LITTLE QUANTITY

feed3

The truth is this, our body does not need too much for its metabolic process; of all the quantities consumed, it utilises nothing more than two spoonfuls or two morsels, the rest are stored as fat in the adipose tissues. And, stored fat is one of the main causes of obesity, heart diseases, diabetes, cancer and other deadly diseases. So what’s the essence of feeding on junks? Instead, discipline you’re your and take a little quantity to avoid temptation.

  1. DON’T EAT IN A HURRY

Take your time to chew your food properly before swallowing. This will help you get tired of the meal and also, stop the moment your stomach says “okay.”Eating slowing can be tedious but you’ve got to discipline yourself and to make it easier, I prescribe reading a favourite book, meditating or any activity that involves the mind. This takes your mind off the food and its taste.

  1. TRICK YOUR MIND

Sometimes you’ve got to trick your mind because overeating is a product of the mind. So, if you aren’t hungry but the voice keep telling “eat!” don’t say “No” else the urges will heighten and you’ll unconsciously give in. Instead, if you aren’t hungry and mind request a food, tell it “no problem I will, but give me an hour or two,” or “…when I’m through…”  It won’t take it long to forget it.

  1. FEED MORE ON THE WORD OF GOD

The word of God is more powerful than high tension high. With it, you can conquer any bad habit or addiction. I love to quote what Jesus said to the devil “man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God (Mathew 4:4); And this one from apostle Paul: “food is for the stomach and the stomach for food…but God will put an end to both (1 Corinthians 6:13)” There are numerous words of God to help you conquer gluttony. Find the one that works for you and feed on it daily.

 

Was this helpful? Kindly drop a comment. Thanks for reading.

One comment

Leave a Reply

